by admiral 1 » 25 Mar 2003 20:51
Harald, i could be wrong, but in hobbs bay isn't the last leg up actually a downwind leg? as in crossing the finish from windward to leeward,the whole leg is seen as from ww to lw?
Or was this on a real upwind leg?
I can only recall 17.2 in affect on downwind legs never saw it on upwind legs....
BTW: on Rule 18 i do have the feeling that the judge just can't keep up, as in there's no judgement as the situations develop faster then the judge can asses them. (i believe concerning sides have to agree on a situation to validate it's judgement)
Otherwise it seems that leafing the Zone either is defined by the first part (the bow or any other part) leafing the zone, as oposed to the last part leafing the zone, or the last part crossing a line perpandicular to the course to the next mark through the rounded mark. R 18 seaces to be applied after that.
Would be nice to get some confirmation on either.
Theeuwes de Jong, skipper of Admiral
"As far as I can remember, there aren't a lot of points of land or holidays named after people who sat at home and criticized Christopher Columbus."
( Paul Cayard, from the Pirates base, in an e-mail to race HQ. 25 Jan 2006 volvooceanrace.org)