RRS 23.2 etc

Rule 18.2 (b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone,
the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside
boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the
zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give
her mark-room.
Rule 23.2 Except when sailing her proper course, a boat shall not interfere with
a boat taking a penalty or sailing on another leg.
CALL E13 ..... A has already sailed to the mark and must now sail to the next mark to continue
sailing the course. X still needs to sail to the required side of this mark, to continue to
sail the course. Therefore, they are on different legs of the course....
Red:
At 3 my proper course is to gybe and head back to mark nr 1. Blue failed to stay clear of a leeward boat (RRS 11) and should be penalised. Alternatively at 3, Blue must still round mark 1 before sailing to mark 2 and thus is on the same leg as Red which still has to round mark 1 also. Alternatively at 4, Blue must still pass mark 1 therefore Blue is still on the same leg, and should keep clear of a leeward boat (RRS 11)
Blue:
At 3 Red is not sailing her propercourse to mark 1 and is interfering with Blue on a different leg sailing to mark 2 at the latest when blue has passed mark 1 shortly after 3. Blue stayed clear of red well after exiting the 2 BL zone.
Questions:
a) Is a proper course relative to the present position of a boat? Does a proper course exist at all for red at 3 to 4?
b) can a boat be on 2 legs? By still having to pass mark 1, while on a proper course to mark 2 that requires no course change to pass mark 1?
Team Europe :
There is no guarantee on a jury outcome / umpire call.
Red should have sailed to windward of mark 1.
If this fails for whatever reason red would be tactically more secure by assuming a reaching til closehauled course on sb tack preventing blue from coming a breast (overlapped) with the mark. In appeals and protests the primary argument must be that Blue still had to sail (instead of "allready has sailed") TO ( see CALL E16) mark 1 and RRS 23.2 is not applicable.
A negative umpire call best be discussed over a beer or 2 if we're serious about that argument.
Whith 2 blue boats trapped like that expect the race to be black flagged. Then even if Blue would be penalised at 3 proper course for red is to sail to the mark..
the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside
boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the
zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give
her mark-room.
Rule 23.2 Except when sailing her proper course, a boat shall not interfere with
a boat taking a penalty or sailing on another leg.
CALL E13 ..... A has already sailed to the mark and must now sail to the next mark to continue
sailing the course. X still needs to sail to the required side of this mark, to continue to
sail the course. Therefore, they are on different legs of the course....
Red:
At 3 my proper course is to gybe and head back to mark nr 1. Blue failed to stay clear of a leeward boat (RRS 11) and should be penalised. Alternatively at 3, Blue must still round mark 1 before sailing to mark 2 and thus is on the same leg as Red which still has to round mark 1 also. Alternatively at 4, Blue must still pass mark 1 therefore Blue is still on the same leg, and should keep clear of a leeward boat (RRS 11)
Blue:
At 3 Red is not sailing her propercourse to mark 1 and is interfering with Blue on a different leg sailing to mark 2 at the latest when blue has passed mark 1 shortly after 3. Blue stayed clear of red well after exiting the 2 BL zone.
Questions:
a) Is a proper course relative to the present position of a boat? Does a proper course exist at all for red at 3 to 4?
b) can a boat be on 2 legs? By still having to pass mark 1, while on a proper course to mark 2 that requires no course change to pass mark 1?
Team Europe :
There is no guarantee on a jury outcome / umpire call.
Red should have sailed to windward of mark 1.
If this fails for whatever reason red would be tactically more secure by assuming a reaching til closehauled course on sb tack preventing blue from coming a breast (overlapped) with the mark. In appeals and protests the primary argument must be that Blue still had to sail (instead of "allready has sailed") TO ( see CALL E16) mark 1 and RRS 23.2 is not applicable.
A negative umpire call best be discussed over a beer or 2 if we're serious about that argument.
Whith 2 blue boats trapped like that expect the race to be black flagged. Then even if Blue would be penalised at 3 proper course for red is to sail to the mark..