Page 1 of 1

TR 2019-11-06 7empest vs Shuraz.

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2019 15:36
by ShurazRus
TR 2019-11-06 7empest vs Shuraz.

please comment on this situation

Re: TR 2019-11-06 7empest vs Shuraz.

PostPosted: 08 Nov 2019 17:32
by euphoria
7empest tack in the zone, so 18.3 applies. That rule only says (in this case) that 7empest shall not force Shuraz above close hauled (=TWA28). Rule 11 applies, so Shuraz also have to keep clear, even if he is forced above close hauled. Rule 18.2a does not apply, see the last sentence of 18.3.

So in this case, rule 18.3 applies, but it is not broken.
Rule 11 applies, and is broken by Shuraz.