Page 1 of 1

rules 11 and 15

PostPosted: 25 Feb 2020 21:26
by jiel
Hi everybody,
Please have a look on the attached replay from 1min40sec. IMO, althought FLOW didnt change course, he broke rule 15. As soon as possible after he was under 11, JIEL tried to keep clear but he had not the room that FLOW might give him from rule 15 :
"When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, ..."
but I have now a doubt because the rule precises :
" unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s actions."
So because JIEL slowed down, he is not entitled to have the rule 15 room ... ???

Any light is wellcome.

Cheers,
Jean-Luc

Re: rules 11 and 15

PostPosted: 25 Feb 2020 21:54
by Shura
TR 2020 02 25 Flowtation vs JieL prestart


my opinion Kim broken R15
JL tried to keep clear immediately after overlapping

Re: rules 11 and 15

PostPosted: 26 Feb 2020 08:50
by Shura
Harald did not leave a comment in this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=2513
This has given many typical situations.

TR 2020 02 25 prestart Shuraz vs JieL R11 or R15


my opinion - JieL broken rule 11. it overlaps longer than 2-3 seconds, rule 15 turns off, but rules 11 and 16.1 turn on.
JieL not keep clear.

Re: rules 11 and 15

PostPosted: 26 Feb 2020 13:36
by euphoria
Shura wrote:TR 2020 02 25 Flowtation vs JieL prestart

This is a school example of a 15-violation. Jiel reacts immediately, and does not over rotate.

Harald