Page 1 of 1

duck down

PostPosted: 06 Mar 2020 10:52
by Shura
I don’t know how to name the topic :oops:
but I tried to collect similar cases here.


Harald already give comments on this occasion -
"Don't bear away after the leeward boat has passed HTW, otherwise you break rule 16.1. Too aggressive sailing by the right of way boat does not pay off... Off course a risky move by leeward, as windward can bear away before leeward pass HTW without breaking any rule, but in this case penalty to Red."

add 2 more cases

TR 2020 03 06 Shuraz vs Geronimo


TR 2020 03 04 Shuraz vs SoVa


plus bonus case Harald vs Ilya
there are no comments on him but I don’t want to be missed
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=2519

Sorry, I got a crooked theme design.
I hope Harald corrects.

Re: duck down

PostPosted: 06 Mar 2020 11:44
by jiel
Hi all.
Case Géro/Shura
Dear Shura, because you didnt bear away after Géro passed head to wind and because Géro failed to keep clear (see keep clear definition) when he could (note that he stopped his rotation which could avoid the contact), I think the pen 10 for Géro is deserved.

Re: duck down

PostPosted: 06 Mar 2020 16:20
by euphoria
Just a small advice again to the Shuraz-Sova case: Don't bear away at all after the boat has passed HTW... It justifies pen under 16.1 and it's not necessary to do it. The tacker will have big disadvantage from it's hard turn, and will be behind both blue boats anyway. First of all use the rules to control the opponents, not to penalize, except at mark traps.

Harald

Re: duck down

PostPosted: 06 Mar 2020 16:59
by Shura
im agree

windward boat always needs to be less aggressive