Page 1 of 1

Rule 11/17

PostPosted: 19 Apr 2020 18:41
by LG07
Hello

I post the case here as I protested on an official TRC event : "TR Training" dated on 2020-04-18, but finally change my mind and withdraw it (no flag is lighten up and my team won the race).

The situation can be seen in this replay :
Marseille Loop Port sdg.Replay.Gbx
(637.42 KiB) Downloaded 476 times


In my opinion Sailgood breaks 11 at 10:40 by not letting space enough between him and me.

Note : I never sail more than 28° as I am under 17.

What are your opinions ?

Thanks

Jean-Charles

Re: Rule 11/17

PostPosted: 19 Apr 2020 20:01
by jiel
hi JC,
Yes SG did nothing to increase the space . Under 11, he must keep clear even if 17 applies. If you luffed a little, there would be contact so it is not to keep clear.
Jean-Luc

Re: Rule 11/17

PostPosted: 19 Apr 2020 21:19
by euphoria
In order for you to make contact on him, you will have to break rule 17, so in these cases umpires are not penalizing under rule 11. There is no official call for this as far as I remember, but was teached this way from my mentor in umpiring and at the IU seminar. It's the same principle as if a boat get ROW under 15 or luff under 16, and the other boat is not keeping clear by definition, there will be no penalty if contact only would have occurred if the right-of-way boat did not comply her obligations (to give room) under the rules.

But it is risky to stay there, in case of a windshift.

Harald