Page 1 of 1

TR 2020-11-05 start SoVa vs Kent38

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2020 12:54
by Shura
yesterday two riders thought they were both right. :!:
there is a special case for this collision
look call book TR 2017 - TR ะก2




your opinion please :idea:

Re: TR 2020-11-05 start SoVa vs Kent38

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2020 16:21
by euphoria
Well, the rules are clear, but here we are very close to the limit of both sides of the rule.
There is room between sova and the committee boat up until 19 sec in the video.
So the question is whether it was too late for Kent to go windward of committee at this time.
An imo, it is too late. But it doesn't matter, as this was probably no official race, but its a good example of a borderline situation.

Harald

Re: TR 2020-11-05 start SoVa vs Kent38

PostPosted: 06 Nov 2020 17:07
by Shura
euphoria wrote:, but its a good example of a borderline situation.

Harald

what should be the answer ? penalty both ?

Re: TR 2020-11-05 start SoVa vs Kent38

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2020 01:34
by Jean-Luc Dellis
Hi all,
In my opinion, its a 16.1 for Sova because :
* when Sova initiated his luff at t=17, Kent kept clear : there is room for Kent to sail his course safely. I think Kent had not, by the rules, to anticipate future course changes from Sova.
* but Sova continued his luff (changing course) until an instant where Kent might luff also to keep clear as required by rule 11. However the referree boat would be unavoidable so Kent hold his course. Sova changed course without giving to Kent room to keep clear.

On another side, a question we had with Kent in the chat box about the rule 17 : If an overlap is created before the t=0 start, do you agree that 17 turns ON as soon as the start t=0 is given ?

CU soon,
Jean-Luc

Re: TR 2020-11-05 start SoVa vs Kent38

PostPosted: 07 Nov 2020 11:37
by euphoria
Aleks, I said it's borderline, but I said it was just on the "late luff" side of borderline, so pen to Sova.
As Jean Luc says, you don't have to anticipate that a boat that is luffing will continue to luff.
You can always freeze the situation and look at the direction the right of way boat is pointing.
So the questions in this call is:
1. At what time is leeward pointing in a directing, making it impossible for a windward boat to pass between her and the committee with sufficient gap to keep clear under 11?
2. At this time, was it possible for windward to luff above committee?
If yes, pen to windward. If not, pen to leeward.

The answer to the other question from J-L is yes. That is not up for debate... To be precise, rule 17 also applies before the starting signal. But there is no proper course (see definition) before the starting signal, so it's impossible to sail above proper course...

Harald

Re: TR 2020-11-05 start SoVa vs Kent38

PostPosted: 08 Nov 2020 14:08
by Shura
thanks Harald for the disclosed answer :idea: